See what databases are available to LMS students, families, teachers, and staff in the alphabetical list below. Check back frequently for new research guides and resources.
This critical multidisciplinary database is a key starting point for academic research in all areas of study. It includes thousands of acclaimed, scholarly full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals, as well as videos from the Associated Press.
A resource to help inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government through publications and information distributed by the Gov't. Publishing Office (GPO).
Access thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
A comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
This collection of award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles by Cricket Media helps young readers build strong literacy skills. It explores a wide range of subjects to expand their worlds.
Maine’s Digital Library offers thousands of magazines, newspapers, and reference books available anywhere in the State of Maine to all Maine citizens through this expansive online resource. All content in the digital library is made available through extensive public funding administered by the Maine State Library and significant funding from the University of Maine. Additional funding partners include Colby College, Bates College and Bowdoin College.
Free research resource offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today through essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources.
A full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, and more, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
The highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area. Titles include Consumer Reports, The Atlantic, U.S. News & World Report, People, TIME, Scientific American and more.
A full-text database providing popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and thousands of primary source documents and videos. Titles include Discover, Ranger Rick, TIME, Science News and more.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database of rich content can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
This resource is designed for students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.
. 
Welcome to LMS Library's Research Central!