LibGuides: History of the Olympics: Home

ARTICLES

RECOMMENDED DATABASES

Classroom Video on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of educational videos that can be streamed on-demand from anywhere.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today and provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

BOOKS

Inside the Olympics by Nick Hunter
Call Number: 796.48 HUN
ISBN: 1432954881
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
An overview of the Olympic Games that covers the history and development of the games, achievements of the athletes, famous controversies of the Olympics, and much more.
Grace and Glory by Triumph Books
Call Number: 796.48 LED
ISBN: 1572431164
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
In the past century, female athletes have overcome political, cultural, and racial barriers of many kinds to persevere in the world of sports. Their participation in the Olympic Games demonstrates their development as athletes, and reflects their changing roles in the modern world. In Grace & Glory , the struggles and the victories of celebrated women athletes tell the story of women on the road to triumph.
A Passion for Victory by Benson Bobrick
Call Number: 796.48 BOB
ISBN: 0375868690
Publication Date: 2012-06-26
From the barefoot races of 8th century BC to the underwater obstacle courses in the early 20th century to the high-tension Berlin Games preceding World War II, the Olympics have always been exciting dramas of athletic prowess and human interest.nbsp; In A Passion for Victory, award-winning author Benson Bobrick tells the details of the captivating story of the Olympic Games, starting with their inception in Ancient Greece. This wonderfully readable narrative is rich with anecdotes and profiles of athletes and weaves in important historical events to create a complete picture of each installment of the Games. This thorough account of an international fixation is gripping, poignant, and occasionally hilarious.

The Olympic Games of Ancient Greece were held every four years and without interruption for nearly twelve centuries. The Games were almost 800 years old when Jesus Christ was born, and continued for four centuries after his death. Abandoned and long forgotten, they would return in our modern age to inspire the world’s most prestigious amateur sporting event. This program combines lavish reconstructions of the ancient Greek Games with dramatic highlights from the modern Games to reveal the extraordinary contrasts and unexpected connections between the greatest sporting events of their age. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (110 minutes) Distributed by PBS Distribution.

This classic episode of the U.S. Army’s The Big Picture television series takes viewers on a captivating journey of the Olympic games. Every four years, this event of breathtaking excitement, color, and pageantry takes place in the world of sports in the greatest of all athletics and competitions. This video from the National Archives and Records Administration depicts the final victory in the unofficial team standings of the 80 men in the U.S. Armed Forces who contributed greatly to the Olympic games in Helsinki, Finland in 1952. (28 minutes)