LibGuides: Value of Education: Issues in Education

“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” WB Yeats

"The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination." Albert Einstein

"A human being is not attaining his full heights until he is educated." Horace Mann

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.” Benjamin Franklin

“Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.” Robert Frost

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” Nelson Mandela

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” Aristotle

“Intelligence plus character - that is the goal of true education.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Man’s mind, once stretched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions.” Oliver Wendell Holmes

Resources

Jumping Off Ideas

Ideas to jump start your essay:

Historical context of education, how has education changed over the years or an historical event (for example Brown vs. Board of Education)
Difference between educational systems around the world
Education based on the type of government (for example democracy vs authoritarian)
The value of different types of education (vocational, home schooling, etc.)
The importance of education in a society
Current issues around US education system
A specific person who was impacted by education

Recommended Databases

Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease. (Part of the Digital Maine Library - Provided by the Maine State Library)
Provided by the Maine State Library - Use your public library card to login or create a free account
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
An online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. (Part of the Digital Maine Library - Provided by the Maine State Library)
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated world topics. SIRS Issues Researcher helps students make sense of the world by offering relevant, credible resources that tell the whole story on the major issues and world conflicts of the day.
US History in Context This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today and provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

Value of Education: Issues in Education

Resources

Jumping Off Ideas

Recommended Databases

Recommended Websites