Allies by
This book is for everyone. Because we can all be allies. As an ally, you use your power--no matter how big or small--to support others. You learn, and try, and mess up, and try harder. In this collection of true stories, 17 critically acclaimed and bestselling YA authors get real about being an ally, needing an ally, and showing up for friends and strangers. From raw stories of racism and invisible disability to powerful moments of passing the mic, these authors share their truths. They invite you to think about your own experiences and choices and how to be a better ally. There are no easy answers, but this book helps you ask better questions. Self-reflection prompts, resources, journaling ideas, and further reading suggestions help you find out what you can do. Because we're all in this together. And we all need allies. A portion of the proceeds from this book goes to supporting charities.
Beating Bullying at Home and in Your Community by
"From toxic family environments to harassment in the workplace and cyberbullying, LGBTQ+ teens often face bullying beyond the schoolyard. This text explores the issues and lets teens know they're not alone when dealing with this mistreatment. Giving guidance to bystanders as well as targets, the book includes suggestions for educating families and communities that members of the LGBTQ+ community deserve the same rights and protections as other people. Targets of bullying can find encouragement along with ideas and resources on how to change their situation and heal from the damage caused by aggression and harassment."
Bullying by
Pro/con articles on how bullying including the causes of bullying, how parents and others can combat bullying, and how bullying can be reduced.
Cyberbullying by
Provides 12 informative questions and answers about cyberbullying. Exciting, full-color spreads present related facts and tips and tricks you need to know to stay smart with technology.
Dear Bully: Seventy Authors Tell Their Stories by
Presents top authors for teens as they share their stories about bullying--as silent observers on the sidelines of high school, as victims, and as perpetrators.
Electronic Devices in Schools by
On average, children are around the age of twelve when they receive their first mobile device. We are ready and excited to welcome technology into our lives, but it doesn't come without controversy. Editor Jill Hamilton has arranged several fascinating essays that explain the issues relating to electronic device use in schools. Does YouTube belong in the classroom? Does the cell phone ban need rethinking? Should laptops for all be a standard? Do electronic devices enable bullying? These provocative questions are answered in this book.
Everything You Need to Know about Trolls and Cybermobs by
"The topic of cyberbullying tends to appear in the news only after a tragedy. This compelling book explains the abuses that trolls dish out, as well as the impact that cybermobs can have on anyone, from students to business owners. To combat these issues, this book thoughtfully suggests ways that students can actively avoid abuse and includes sound advice about how they can protect themselves if they fall victim to online mistreatment. Along with offering practical solutions, this book is structured to improve reading skills by allowing readers to identify key ideas and details, according to Common Core reading standards."
How Can School Violence Be Prevented? by
A string of school shootings in the United States has led educators, parents, and policy makers to seek ways to prevent such acts of violence. In this engaging anthology, authors debate the usefulness of anti-bullying programs, increased security measures, gun control, and other measures designed to keep schools safe.
Standing up to Bullying at School by
"LGBTQ+ youth face an increased risk of being bullied at school, which can lead to serious consequences for their mental health, academic performance, and physical safety. Public awareness of the issue has increased, however, and schools are now expected to provide a safe learning environment for students of every sexual orientation and gender identity. This book provides resources and strategies for helping LGBTQ+ students overcome bullying and maintain their well-being. It offers numerous suggestions on how to help bullied LGBTQ+ youth stand up for themselves, reach out to others, gain awareness of their rights, and promote tolerance in their school."
Working with Your School to Create a Safe Environment by
"This informative book offers students in grades seven to twelve practical ideas for working with teachers, parents, administrators, and other students to make their schools safe and welcoming for LGBTQ+ students. From forming Gay-Straight Alliances or similar clubs to organizing Pride days and working to support LGBTQ+-friendly policies and legislation, readers will learn concrete steps they can take to prevent bullying and make their schools safe and welcoming for everyone. For LGBTQ+ youth as well as their straight allies, this book offers a sensitive and detailed approach to ending LGBTQ+ bullying in schools."
If you are experiencing bullying or realize you might have bullied someone, please talk to a trusted adult. In school, any of your teachers, Mrs. O'Connell, Ms. Hinrichs, Mr. Barker, and Ms. Nesin are here to help.
Make an anonymous report - use this link to tell the school about an incident or incidents of bullying without including your name.
Cyberbullying by
Provides 12 informative questions and answers about cyberbullying. Exciting, full-color spreads present related facts and tips and tricks you need to know to stay smart with technology.
Everything You Need to Know about Trolls and Cybermobs by
"The topic of cyberbullying tends to appear in the news only after a tragedy. This compelling book explains the abuses that trolls dish out, as well as the impact that cybermobs can have on anyone, from students to business owners. To combat these issues, this book thoughtfully suggests ways that students can actively avoid abuse and includes sound advice about how they can protect themselves if they fall victim to online mistreatment. Along with offering practical solutions, this book is structured to improve reading skills by allowing readers to identify key ideas and details, according to Common Core reading standards."
Electronic Devices in Schools by
On average, children are around the age of twelve when they receive their first mobile device. We are ready and excited to welcome technology into our lives, but it doesn't come without controversy. Editor Jill Hamilton has arranged several fascinating essays that explain the issues relating to electronic device use in schools. Does YouTube belong in the classroom? Does the cell phone ban need rethinking? Should laptops for all be a standard? Do electronic devices enable bullying? These provocative questions are answered in this book.
Gay-Straight Alliances by
"A 2016 Vanderbilt University study reported that LGBTQ+ students in schools with a Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) were 52 percent less likely to hear homophobic remarks and experience bullying in school. This book provides the tools and resources to organize a GSA and to become a proactive leader in a community. Also included in the guide are educational activities, tips for being a good ally to LGBTQ+ people of color, and a Myths & Facts section that debunks common assumptions about Gay-Straight Alliances. The comprehensive text is a valuable guide for LGBTQ+ youth and allies."
Standing up to Bullying at School by
"LGBTQ+ youth face an increased risk of being bullied at school, which can lead to serious consequences for their mental health, academic performance, and physical safety. Public awareness of the issue has increased, however, and schools are now expected to provide a safe learning environment for students of every sexual orientation and gender identity. This book provides resources and strategies for helping LGBTQ+ students overcome bullying and maintain their well-being. It offers numerous suggestions on how to help bullied LGBTQ+ youth stand up for themselves, reach out to others, gain awareness of their rights, and promote tolerance in their school."
Beating Bullying at Home and in Your Community by
"From toxic family environments to harassment in the workplace and cyberbullying, LGBTQ+ teens often face bullying beyond the schoolyard. This text explores the issues and lets teens know they're not alone when dealing with this mistreatment. Giving guidance to bystanders as well as targets, the book includes suggestions for educating families and communities that members of the LGBTQ+ community deserve the same rights and protections as other people. Targets of bullying can find encouragement along with ideas and resources on how to change their situation and heal from the damage caused by aggression and harassment."
It Gets Better by
Every story can change a life. Watch a video Growing up isn't easy. Many young people face daily tormenting and bullying, making them feel like they have nowhere to turn. This is especially true for LGBT kids and teens who often hide their sexuality for fear of bullying. Without other openly gay adults and mentors in their lives, they can't imagine what their future may hold. In many instances, gay and lesbian adolescents are taunted - even tortured - simply for being themselves. After a number of tragic suicides by LGBT students who were bullied in school, syndicated columnist and author Dan Savage uploaded a video to YouTube with his partner Terry Miller to inspire hope for LGBT youth facing harassment. Speaking openly about the bullying they suffered as teenagers, and how they both went on to lead rewarding adult lives, their video launched the It Gets Better Project YouTube channel and initiated a worldwide phenomenon. With over 6,000 videos posted and over 20 million views in the first three months alone, the world has embraced the opportunity to provide personal, honest and heartfelt support for LGBT youth everywhere. It Gets Better is a collection of expanded essays and new material from celebrities, everyday people and teens who have posted videos of encouragement, as well as new contributors who have yet to post videos to the site. While many of these teens couldn't see a positive future for themselves, we can. We can show LGBT youth the levels of happiness, potential and positivity their lives will reach if they can just get through their teen years. By sharing these stories, It Gets Better reminds teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone - and it WILL get better.
Working with Your School to Create a Safe Environment by
"This informative book offers students in grades seven to twelve practical ideas for working with teachers, parents, administrators, and other students to make their schools safe and welcoming for LGBTQ+ students. From forming Gay-Straight Alliances or similar clubs to organizing Pride days and working to support LGBTQ+-friendly policies and legislation, readers will learn concrete steps they can take to prevent bullying and make their schools safe and welcoming for everyone. For LGBTQ+ youth as well as their straight allies, this book offers a sensitive and detailed approach to ending LGBTQ+ bullying in schools."
